top of page
  • Writer's pictureIda

Keep your eyes on the prize

Updated: Jan 30, 2020

Sometimes I get insecure and scared. Not sure if I'm really good at what I do. Afraid not to deliver. Afraid to fail. Those thoughts can keep me awake in the middle of the night and different scenarios of my future are played out in front of me. One often worse than the other.

Other times I feel strong and knowledgeable. That I’m on a roll. That I have full control.  

At times it can change quite quickly between these different mindsets.   What I then try to do is to formalize a staircase towards my goals. It can be a single big staircase for the coming month, with several miscellaneous targets sketched on (and I mean really sketched, ie I don’t just make a mental staircase). It can also be - which is usually preferred - one staircase for each target.    This staircase contains both higher steps and various small ones. The higher ones mean that I have either achieved something major, or I have performed many small achievements that jointly contribute to something big.   For example, it may be that I want to be more healthy and be better at a certain form of exercise. Maybe I want to become so agile that I can lie down with my head against my feets. Or manage to do a full five minutes plank. Then I might start with reaching my toes with my fingertips or adding an extra 15 seconds to my everyday plank practice.   It could also be about limiting my mobile usage and reduce the small addiction to social media that I tend to have.   It may be that I have a work project where the goal is to present some form of final product or delivery within a certain time.   By drawing it up as a flight of stairs I then - in a state of inadequacy and self doubt - can go back and look at all the steps that I have actually already taken. By this sketch my goal is also becoming clearer. While I easily can see the final destination, I only need to focus on the next step and thus the goal becomes more accessible and not so difficult to reach.   Sometimes I choose to end a project for a variety of reasons, and then I usually make sure to formulate why it has become so on paper. Because even though I didn't reach all the way to the finish line I have always learned something. Both about myself and my priorities as well as about the task itself.   Do you have a way to make sure you reach your goals? What do you do to not lose focus from where you are going?





58 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page